General Terms and Conditions

The following General Terms and Conditions apply to the legal relationship between "trans-tech translations" and the client:

1. Scope

1.1 These General Terms and Conditions apply to all legally binding activities between "trans-tech translations" (henceforth: the Translator) and the legal entity awarding the contract in writing (henceforth: the Client), and exclude any such general terms and conditions of the Client, unless both parties have agreed in writing to their application. For the sake of simplicity, all parties mentioned in these General Terms and Conditions are expressed in the masculine form and should be understood to include both genders.

2. Price Quotes and Job Execution

2.1 Until the Translator has the opportunity to review the complete text to be translated, all quotes and given prices are not binding. All additions or modifications made to the original text after translation work has commenced are charged separately.

2.2 The agreement becomes legally valid as soon as the Client forwards to the translator a written job confirmation, or, if no price quote was made, when the Translator acknowledges to the Client in writing that the job has been received and will be processed. In cases where the Translator had not been able to view the entire text at the time of his making a quote, he may withdraw originally agreed job fees and deadlines even after the Client has accepted them.

2.3 The Translator can assume that the Client is the person who has placed the job order, unless that person has clearly indicated that he is acting as an agent of or to the account of a third person, and has clearly made known the name and address of this third person to the Translator.

3. Ethics, Confidentiality

3.1 The Translator is specialized in the translation of technical, scientific and economic text for science, industry and commerce. This includes very demanding technical, scientific and commercial texts that require an in-depth knowledge and understanding of the material being processed. The Translator prefers texts that impart and promote knowledge, understanding, truth and abilities in the fields of commerce, science and industry. Also, texts that contribute to promoting understanding between science and industry, that are beneficial for good cohabitation between mankind and the environment and amongst humans themselves are gladly processed. No religious texts, texts dealing with weapons or military topics, texts that contain or promote untruths, texts of low moral value or content and certainly no offensive materials are processed.

3.2 It is incumbent upon the Translator to execute the job conscientiously, using his professional abilities and knowledge in accordance with the purpose indicated by the Client.

3.3 The Translator will maintain utmost confidentiality with respect to the data given to him or made known to him by the Client, unless such information is already general knowledge.

3.4 At the request of the Translator, the Client will provide all available information regarding the text to be translated, including documentation and lists of terminology. Such documents will be forwarded to the Translator at the expense of the Client.

4. Change/Withdrawal of the Job

4.1 Should the Client, after an agreement has been reached, make other than minor changes to the job, the Translator reserves the right to adapt agreed time frames and/or fees, or to refuse the job in retrospect.

4.2 Should the Client withdraw a given job order, he is obliged to pay for those parts of the translation which have already been carried out. This applies also to preparatory work which has been done by the Translator in connection with the execution of the job.

4.3 If the Translator has reserved time to complete the job, and he cannot fill this time with other work, the Client owes the Translator 50 percent of the fees for that portion of the job which has not been carried out.

4.4 The Client must inform the Translator in a timely fashion of special conditions of the translation (translation on data carriers, number of copies, print readiness, appearance of the translated document, etc.). If the translation is to be printed, the Client must provide the Translator with a proof copy.

4.5 The Translator does not translate or process in any way any religious texts, subjects clearly dealing with military matters or weapons or information that is evidently false or abusive (see Section 2.1). Should, during the course of translation work, it become evident to the Translator that he is dealing with text of this nature, the Translator will immediately inform the Client and cancel the job. In this case the Client has absolutely no right to claim for compensation for delays or any other disadvantages resulting to him from this action; on the other hand, the Translator will not charge the Client for any work that he may have completed. In this case the Contract is terminated as if it had never existed.

5. Deadlines, Delivery

5.1 Unless otherwise specified, an agreed deadline is the time frame which is anticipated to be necessary to complete the job. Where it can be foreseen that the agreed deadline cannot be upheld, the Translator must inform the client immediately.

5.2 If the Translator is responsible for a delay in the execution of the job, and the delay in job execution seems rightly and reasonably inappropriate, the Client has the right to end the agreement unilaterally. In such a case the Translator has no right to claim compensation.

5.3 Transmission and return-transmission are considered complete at the moment that the document is delivered by mail or is received by fax, telex or courier.

5.4 Transmission and return-transmission by e-mail are considered complete when the recipient has confirmed their reception (reply).

6. Fees and Payment

6.1 Fees are generally understood as fees per line [standard line: 55 keystrokes (characters and spaces)]. For other work than translation (editorial work) an hourly fee is charged. The Translator reserves the right to bill for additional costs which may have been incurred in conjunction with the job execution (analysis of source materials etc.).

6.2 Value added tax (VAT) is added to all prices indicated by the Translator, unless the Client shows irrefutably that he is not required to pay such taxes.

6.3 Invoice amounts are due upon the return-transmission of the job and payable within 30 days following the date of invoice. If payment is not made within this 30 day period, the Client is in default of payment.

7. Complaints/ Adjustments

7.1 The Client is obliged to inform the Translator about any complaints he has concerning the translation, indicating the reasons for his dissatisfaction. Should this situation arise, he must do this in writing, as soon as possible, but under all circumstances within ten days of the return-transmission of the job. The notification of a complaint or a return does not free the Client from his contractual responsibilities (payment of the fees for accomplished work).

7.2 In case of serious and verifiable errors and/or justified complaints, the Translator will initially have the right to review and correct the original translation and return the corrected translation to the Client within a reasonable period of time. The right to make such corrections expires if the Translator is not in a position to deliver a corrected version of the translation within the mutually agreed period of time, whereby such non-delivery of a corrected version does not exempt the Client from paying the Translator for the work he has performed, the amount due under such circumstances being not less than 50 percent the originally agreed fee.

8. Liability: Limitation of Liability

8.1 The Translator is only liable for lasting damages which are a direct and proven consequence of a failing for which the Translator can be held responsible. The Translator is at no time liable for other forms of damage, in particular, not for consecutive damages and damages resulting from a delay/hold-up, the loss of income or lost profits. Any liability is limited at maximum to the total sum of the invoice, excluding value added tax (VAT), for the job in question.

8.2 Evident ambiguities in the basic text free the translator from any liability whatsoever.

8.3 The Translator is not liable for damages from loss of documents or from loss of data and data carriers, which were left to him to fulfil his contractual duties (execution of the job). Also, the Translator cannot be held liable for damages resulting from the use of information/telecommunications technology.

8.4 The Client shall protect the Translator from claims by any third party concerning or dealing in any way with the use of the delivered work, and which exceed the liability of the translator as described in this section.

9. Cancellation

9.1 Where the Client fails to meet his contractual obligations or is the object of bankruptcy or liquidation proceedings, insolvency proceedings, or a payment moratorium, the Translator has the right to cancel the agreement partly or in full, or to delay its execution without any liability. The Translator can then immediately enforce his claims.

9.2 Should the Translator not be able to fulfil his contractual duties due to circumstances outside of his influence, he may terminate the contract without being liable for damages. Such circumstances are in particular: Fire, accident, illness, strike, civil war, war, uprising, natural disasters, or limited availability of traffic infrastructure, government measures, or any other circumstance outside of the translator's influence.

10. Intellectual Property

10.1 The translation remains the property of the Translator until it has been paid in full. The Client does not have the right to use it until that time.

10.2 The Client shall protect the Translator from liability claims made by any third party with respect to alleged breaches of contract regarding ownership, patent rights, copyrights, or marketing rights in conjunction with the execution of the job.

11. Applicable Law, Jurisdiction

11.1 Legal dealings between the Client and the Translator are subject to German law.

11.2 In the event of legal disputes, the corresponding jurisdiction in Berlin applies

11.3 The validity of these General Terms and Conditions is not affected by the nullity or non-applicability of individual provisions.

11.4 In cases of doubt, the German version of the "General Terms and Conditions" published here applies.

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen

Im Rechtsverhältnis zwischen trans-tech Übersetzungen und dem Auftraggeber gelten folgende Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen:

§ 1. Anwendungsbereich

1.1 Diese Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen finden Anwendung auf alle rechtlich verbindlichen Handlungen zwischen trans-tech Übersetzungen (nachstehend: der Übersetzer) und der juristischen Person, die den Auftrag erteilt (nachstehend der Auftraggeber), ausschließlich der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen des Auftraggebers, es sei denn, die Parteien hätten schriftlich deren Verbindlichkeit vereinbart. Ist in diesen Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen die Rede von der männlichen Form, schließt dies die weibliche Form mit ein.

§ 2. Angebote, Auftragsabhandlung

2.1 Sämtliche Angebote und angegebenen Preise sind bis zur Einsichtnahme des komplett zu übersetzenden Textes durch den Übersetzer unverbindlich. Nachträgliche Ergänzungen und Änderungen werden gesondert berechnet.

2.2 Die Vereinbarung wird rechtskräftig sobald der Auftraggeber dem Übersetzer eine schriftliche Auftragsbestätigung abgegeben hat, oder - sollte kein Angebot abgegeben worden sein - durch die schriftliche Auftragsbestätigung des Übersetzers dem Auftraggeber gegenüber. Für den Fall, dass es dem Übersetzer unmöglich war, zu dem Zeitpunkt, zu dem das Angebot abgegeben wurde, den gesamten Text einzusehen, darf der Übersetzer, auch nachdem der Auftraggeber das Angebot akzeptiert hat, anfänglich vereinbarte Honorare und Termine widerrufen.

2.3 Der Übersetzer darf davon ausgehen, dass der Auftraggeber die Person ist, die ihm den Auftrag erteilt hat, es sei denn, diese Person hätte unmissverständlich zum Ausdruck gebracht, dass er/sie im Namen oder auf Rechnung einer dritten Person handelt, und als solches Name und Adresse der besagten dritten Person dem Übersetzer gegenüber in diesem Zusammenhang deutlich kennbar gemacht hat.

§ 3. Ethik, Vertraulichkeit

3.1 Der Übersetzer ist spezialisiert auf die Übersetzung von technischen, wissenschaftlichen und wirtschaftlichen Texten für Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Industrie. Dazu gehören anspruchsvolle technische, wissenschaftliche und wirtschaftliche Texte, die ein umfangreiches Verständnis der jeweiligen Materie voraussetzen. Der Übersetzer bevorzugt Texte die Wissen, Erkenntnis, Wahrheit und Fähigkeiten in der Industrie, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vermitteln und fördern. Auch Texte, die zur Verständigung zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie beitragen, die förderlich für ein gutes Zusammenleben zwischen Mensch und Umwelt sowie zwischen Menschen untereinander beitragen, werden gerne bearbeitet. Nicht bearbeitet werden religiöse Texte, Texte die sich mit Waffen oder Militär beschäftigen, Texte die Unwahrheiten vermitteln oder beinhalten, Texte von geringem sittlichen Niveau oder gar anstößige Texte.

3.2 Es obliegt dem Übersetzer, den Auftrag gewissenhaft und unter Einsatz seiner fachlichen Fähigkeiten und seines Wissens gemäß dem vom Auftraggeber vorgegebenen Zweck auszuführen.

3.3 Sofern die vom Auftraggeber an den Übersetzer übermittelten Texte nicht bereits allgemein bekannt sind, wahrt der Übersetzer hinsichtlich dieser Daten und Informationen äußerste Vertraulichkeit.

3.4 Auf Anfrage des Übersetzers stellt der Auftraggeber sämtliche verfügbaren Informationen in Bezug auf den zu übersetzenden Text zur Verfügung, einschließlich Dokumentation und Teminologielisten. Die Übermittlung solcher Dokumente geschieht auf Kosten des Auftraggebers.

§ 4. Änderung/Zurückziehen des Auftrags

4.1 Nimmt, nachdem die Vereinbarung zustande gekommen ist, der Auftraggeber Änderungen am Auftrag vor, die über geringe Änderungen hinausgehen, ist der Übersetzer befugt, vereinbarte Termine und/oder Honorare anzupassen oder den Auftrag im Nachhinein abzulehnen.

4.2 Zieht der Auftraggeber seinen Auftrag zurück, ist er verpflichtet, für bereits ausgeführte Teile des Übersetzungsauftrags zu zahlen. Dies gilt auch in Bezug auf Vorarbeiten, die im Rahmen der Auftragsabhandlung vom Übersetzer geleistet wurden.

4.3 Sollte der Übersetzer Zeit für die Abhandlung des Auftrags freigemacht haben, und kann er diese Zeit nicht mit anderen Auftragsarbeiten füllen, ist der Auftraggeber dem Übersetzer 50 Prozent des Honorars verschuldet,fällig für den Teil des Auftrags, der nicht abgehandelt wurde.

4.4 Der Auftraggeber hat den Übersetzer rechtzeitig über besondere Ausführungsformen der Übersetzung zu unterrichten (Übersetzung auf Datenträgern, Anzahl der Ausfertigungen, Druckreife, äußere Form der Übersetzung etc.). Ist die Übersetzung für den Druck bestimmt, hat der Auftraggeber dem Übersetzer einen Korrekturabzug zu überlassen.

4.5 Der Übersetzer übersetzt und verarbeitet keine religiösen Texte, Texte die sich mit millitärischen Themen oder mit Waffen beschäftigen oder Texte deren Inhalt offensichtlich falsch oder irgendwie anstößig ist (siehe § 2.1). Sollte es dem Übersetzer im Laufe seiner Übersetzungsarbeit klar werden, dass es sich um einen solchen Text handelt, wird der Übersetzer seine Arbeit sofort abbrechen, den Auftraggeber informieren und den Vertrag annullieren. In diesem Fall hat der Auftraggeber in keinster Weise irgend einen Anspruch auf irgendwelche Wiedergutmachung wegen Verzögerungen oder sonstigen Nachteilen, die dem Auftraggeber wegen dieser Maßnahme entstehen mögen; andererseits wird der Übersetzer dem Auftraggeber keinerlei Leistungen in diesem Zusammenhang in Rechnung stellen. In diesem Fall wird der Vertrag gelöscht als ob er nie existiert hätte.

§ 5. Termine, Lieferung

5.1 Ein vereinbarter Termin ist der Zeitraum, den die Auftragsabwicklung voraussichtlich beansprucht, es sei denn, solches sei anders vereinbart. Ist es absehbar, dass der vereinbarte Termin nicht realisiert werden kann, hat der Übersetzer dies dem Auftraggeber unverzüglich mitzuteilen.

5.2 Ist dem Übersetzer eine Verzögerung bei der Auftragsabwicklung zuzurechnen, hat der Auftraggeber das Recht - insofern ein vernünftigerweise Aufschub der Auftragsabwicklung unangemessen erscheint - die Vereinbarung einseitig aufzulösen. In diesem Falle hat der Übersetzer kein Recht auf Schadenersatz.

5.3 Übermittlung und Rückübermittlung gilt im Moment der Zustellung per Post, Erhalt per Telefax, Telex, Kurier usw. als stattgefunden.

5.4 Übermittlung und Rückübermittlung von Dokumenten per E-mail gilt in dem Moment, in dem der Adressat den Erhalt dieser bestätigt (Reply) als stattgefunden.

§ 6. Honorar und Zahlung

6.1 Honorare verstehen sich grundsätzlich als Zeilenhonorar (Normzeile: 55 Anschläge mit Wortzwischenräumen). Für andere Arbeiten als Übersetzungen (redaktionelle Arbeiten) wird ein Stundenhonorar geltend gemacht. Der Übersetzer hat ggf. das Recht, Zusatzkosten, die im Rahmen der Auftragsabhandlung entstanden sind, ebenfalls in Rechnung zu stellen (Quellenanalyse usw.).

6.2 Sämtliche vom Übersetzer genannten Preise gelten zuzüglich Mehrwertsteuer (MWSt).

6.3 Rechnungsbeträge sind mit der Rückübermittlung des Auftrags fällig und sind innerhalb von 30 Tagen nach Rechnungsdatum zu begleichen. Findet Begleichung nicht innerhalb dieser 30-tägigen Frist statt, ist der Auftraggeber in Verzug.

§ 7. Reklamationen

7.1 Der Auftraggeber ist verpflichtet, Beschwerden und Reklamationen hinsichtlich der Übersetzung dem Übersetzer mitzuteilen, unter Erläuterung der Gründe seiner Unzufriedenheit. Er hat dies ggf. schriftlich, so unverzüglich wie möglich zu tun, auf jeden Fall aber innerhalb von zehn Tagen nach Rückübermittlung des Auftrags. Die Mitteilung einer Beschwerde oder Reklamation befreit den Auftraggeber nicht von seinen vertraglichen Pflichten (Zahlung des Honorars für geleistete Arbeit).

7.2 Bei gravierenden und nachweisbaren Fehlern und/oder berechtigten Reklamationen hat der Übersetzer zunächst das Recht, die anfängliche Übersetzung zu überarbeiten und zu verbessern und diese überarbeitete Fassung innerhalb einer angemessenen Frist zurück zu übermitteln. Das Recht auf Überarbeitung verfällt wenn der Übersetzer nicht in der Lage ist, die Übersetzung innerhalb einer beiderseits annehmbaren Frist zu liefern, wobei die Verpflichtung des Auftraggebers, das vereinbarte Honarar zu zahlen, dadurch nicht verfällt, sondern der Auftraggeber ist weiterhin verpflichtet, dem Übersetzer einen Mindestbetrag von 50 Prozent des vereinbarten Honorars zu zahlen.

§ 8. Haftung: Haftungsausschluss

8.1 Der Übersetzer haftet lediglich für anhaltende Schäden, die direkte und belegbare Folge eines Pflichtversäumnisses sind, für das der Übersetzer verantwortlich gemacht werden kann. Der Übersetzer ist zu keinem Zeitpunkt haftbar für andere Formen von Schäden, insbesondere nicht für Folgeschäden, und Schäden entstanden als Folge einer Verspätung/Verzögerung, des Verlustes von Einkommen oder entgangener Gewinne. Jegliche Haftung ist beschränkt auf die Summe gleich der Rechnung, ausschließlich Mehrwertsteuer (MWSt.), für den entsprechenden Auftrag.

8.2 Evidente Zweideutigkeiten im Basistext entbinden den Übersetzer aus jeglicher Haftpflicht.

8.3 Der Übersetzer haftet nicht für Schäden auf Grund des Verlustes von Dokumenten oder auf Grund des Verlustes von Daten oder Datenträgern, die ihm zur Erfüllung seiner vertraglichen Pflichten (Auftragsausführung) zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Auch kann der Übersetzer für Schäden, die sich aus der Verwendung von Informations- und Telekommunikationstechnologie ergeben, nicht haftbar gemacht werden.

8.4 Der Auftraggeber sichert den Übersetzer vor Ansprüchen Dritter, die auf den Einsatz der gelieferten Arbeit zurückzuführen sind, und die über den Haftungsumfang des Übersetzers, der sich auf Grund dieses Artikels ergibt, hinausgehen.

§ 9. Auflösung

9.1 Verletzt der Auftraggeber seine Vertragspflichten oder ist er Gegenstand eines Konkurs-, bzw. Liquidationsverfahren, Insolvenz-, Vergleichsverfahren oder Zahlungsmoratoriums, hat der Übersetzer, ohne jegliche Schadenersatzpflicht, das Recht, die Vereinbarung ganz oder teilweise aufzulösen oder aber die Ausführung derer aufzuschieben. Er kann sodann seine Ansprüche unmittelbar geltend machen.

9.2 Ist es dem Übersetzer nicht möglich, seine Vertragspflichten auf Grund von Umständen, die außerhalb seines Einflussbereichs liegen zu erfüllen, ist er zur Vertragsbeendigung ohne Schadenersatzpflicht befugt. Als solche Umstände kommen insbesondere in Betracht: Brand, Unfall, Krankheit, Streik, Bürgerkrieg, Krieg, Aufruhr oder beschränkte Verfügbarkeit der Verkehrsinfrastruktur, Regierungsmaßnahmen, Naturkatastrophen oder jeder weitere Umstand auf den der Übersetzer keinen Einfluss hat.

§ 10. Geistiges Eigentum

10.1 Die Übersetzung bleibt bis zur vollständigen Bezahlung Eigentum des Übersetzers. Bis dahin hat der Auftraggeber kein Nutzungsrecht.

10.2 Der Auftraggeber sichert dem Übersetzer Haftungsfreistellung zu in Bezug auf etwaige Klagen Dritter hinsichtlich vermeintlicher Vertragsbrüche in Bezug auf Eigentum, Patentrechte, Urheberrechte oder Markenrechte im Zusammenhang mit der Auftragsabwicklung.

§ 11. Anwendbares Recht, Zuständigkeit

11.1 Rechtsgeschäfte zwischen Auftraggeber und Übersetzer unterliegen deutschem Recht.

11.2 Im Falle eines Rechtsstreits ist die entsprechende Gerichtsbarkeit in Berlin zuständig.

11.3 Die Wirksamkeit dieser Geschäftsbedingungen wird durch die Nichtigkeit und Unwirksamkeit einzelner Bestimmungen nicht berührt.

11.4 In Zweifelsfällen gilt die hier veröffentlichte deutsche Fassung der "Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen"